• Dozens of stations and car parks recognised by independent national accreditation
  • 58 stations now hold Secure Station Award
  • 33 station car parks have retained Park Mark, the Safer Parking Scheme award
  • Part of continued investment by East Midlands Trains to ensure customers can travel with confidence

Dozens of East Midlands Trains stations and car parks are officially recognised for their safety and security by two national schemes.

58 stations, spread right across the network are now accredited under the Secure Stations Scheme, which is administered by the Department for Transport and British Transport Police and represents a national standard for passenger safety and security on Britain’s railway stations.

Of those 58 stations, 23 have been newly accredited following additional investment and operations by East Midlands Trains and eight have retained their accreditation. The remaining 27 stations received their Secure Station Awards in 2015 – they are valid for two years.

In addition, 33 train station car parks have also retained Park Mark, the Safer Parking Scheme award. This is a national standard for UK car parks that have low crime and measures in place to ensure the safety of people and vehicles. The scheme is administered by the British Parking Association and British Transport Police.

Sarah Potts, Crime and Security Strategy Manager, said:
“The safety and security of our customers is always our top priority, whether that is on our trains or in and around our stations.

“The Secure Station and Park Mark awards are a fitting recognition of our constant efforts and investment to provide safe and enjoyable journeys for our customer’s right across the network.”

Peter Gravells, British Parking Association Area Manager, said:
“I am delighted that East Midlands Trains has shown such commitment to the Safer Parking Scheme.  The awards are well deserved and clearly demonstrate the desire to provide the best customer experience possible, from car park to destination.  A lot of work goes on behind the scenes to maintain the standards required and all the staff should be congratulated for their efforts.”

The criteria for accreditation for the Secure Station scheme covers four key areas; design of the station, management of the station, management of crime levels and passenger perception of safety. East Midlands Trains has a long-standing commitment to the Secure Stations Scheme.

Car parks with the Park Mark award can use signage featuring the distinctive Park Mark tick, so that drivers know exactly where to go for safer parking.  Early adopters of the scheme saw a dramatic drop in vehicle-related crime of over 80% showing that the initiative really does make a difference.

Personal safety and location have been cited as joint priorities when choosing where to park.  There are currently 5000 car parks with the Park Mark award throughout the UK which can be found on a designated website www.parkmark.co.uk

Stations accredited under the Secure Stations Scheme:

Alfrteton Hinckley Narborough
Alsager Hucknall Newark Castle
Ambergate Kettering Nottingham
Attenborough Kirby in Ashfield Oakham
Barrow on Soar Langley Mill Ruskington
Beeston Leicester Saxilby
Belper Lincoln Central Sheffield
Blythe Bridge Long Eaton Shirebrook
Boston Longton Sileby
Bottesford Loughborough Skegness
Burton on Trent Lowdham Sleaford
Chesterfield Mansfield Spalding
Collingham Mansfield Woodhouse Stamford
Corby Market Harborough Sutton Parkway
Cromford Market Rasen Syston
Derby Matlock Tutbury and Hatton
Duffield Matlock Bath Uttoxeter
East Midlands Parkway Melton Mowbray Wainfleet
Heckington Metheringham Wellinborough


Stations awarded the Park Mark Safer Parking Award:

Alfreton Derby (south car park) Market Harborough
Alsager Duffield Melton Mowbray
Ambergate East Midlands Parkway Newark Castle
Beeston Hinckley Nottingham (Queens Road)
Blythe Bridge Kettering (north) Oakham
Burton-on-Trent (main car park Kettering (south) Spalding (Winsover Road)
Burton-on-Trent (station forecourt) Kidsgrove Stamford
Chesterfield Leicester Uttoxeter
Collingham Lincoln (St Marys Street) Wellingborough (north)
Derby (north car park) Longton Wellingborough (south)
Derby (Pride Park) Loughborough Whatstandwell